Experience the charm and ambience of King’s Grant, the historically enriched country retreat that has been authentically restored into a unique, tasteful and well-facilitated establishment.
For over one hundred years King’s Grant was run by the resident Mariannhill Monks as the St Isidor Mission and Millworks.
Originally built by German Trappist Monks in 1891, the ancient red brick buildings have been restored and converted into an enchanting country guesthouse with Bed & Breakfast as well as self-catering accommodation.
King’s Grant facilities include the St. Isidor Conference Centre, Museum and a quaint chapel, perfect for an intimate wedding or the renewing of one’s vows. The original dairy buildings and courtyard have been transformed into a beautiful Banqueting Hall and licensed restaurant where one can enjoy a magical evening of fine wine and dining surrounded by flower-filled gardens and romantic candlelight.
King’s Grant is nestled in the valley of the St Isidor Estate and is surrounded by lush farmlands, dams, bushveld and wetlands. The varying habitats play host to extensive birdlife and invite you to explore their diverse beauty. The estate also boasts a number of other historical sites such as the solitary Brickfield, Murchison House, the original homestead of Dick King’s daughter and a little dam built by Italian prisoners of war.